‘Difficult Women’ by Roxane Gay. What it’s like so far

My latest read is a collection of short stories by Bad Feminist author Roxane Gay.

I’m not lying when I say Difficult Women is partially responsible for restoring my motivation in writing my own short stories and essays. It gets my creative juices flowing and sparks my inspiration.

When I tell you I was zooming through this book, (it helps that most of the chapters/ stories are so short) I’ve been reading it way quicker than anything else this year. This collection of short stories just grabbed me and won’t let go.

It’s been a little over a month since I started reading it, and it was simultaneously with Sister Souljah’s No Disrespect. So, initially, I wasn’t fully immersed … but now? Now I’m for real! So let’s just jump into it.

I went in confused before becoming intrigued, then disgusted, captivated. The first chapter was BAD. Every chapter after that had me widening my eyes in shock, or disgust, and had my jaw dropped by the end of each chapter.

Some of these stories of women deemed “difficult” left me hungry for more. I have about 6 favorites at this point. It’s what I look forward to reading *almost* every night.

. . .

Follow me on Twitter @goddessishrc for more content. Consider donations to Cashapp: $RaesViolet or PayPal @raesvioletwordsThanks for reading!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started